Tuesday, December 11, 2018

Hockey Nova Scotia Unveils 2019 Canada Winter Games Male Roster

Twenty boys from across the province will represent N.S. in February in Red Deer, Alta.

Hockey Nova Scotia is proud to announce the male roster that will represent the province at next year’s Canada Winter Games.

Twenty players from across Nova Scotia have been named to the province’s Canada Winter Games male hockey team.

In goal, Upper Tantallon’s Jacob Goobie and Inverness’s Kenzie MacPhail will share goaltending duties for Team Nova Scotia.

Nova Scotia's blue line will be made up of Tanner Greatorex (Truro), Oscar Plandowski (Halifax), Michael Sack (Shubenacadie), Luke Vardy (Hammonds Plains), Zach Welsh (Halifax), and Cam Whynot (Kentville).

Up front, Team Nova Scotia will be represented by forwards Davis Cooper (Hammonds Plains), Sam Archibald (Debert), Cole Foston (Beaverbank), Riley Kidney (Enfield), Cam MacDonald (Tantallon), Matthew MacDonald (Halifax), Jacob Melanson (Amherst), Joey Merriam (Milford), Colin Parker (Newport), Griffin Peers (Cole Harbour), Alex Ross (Halifax), and Connor Trenholm (Cole Harbour).

The team was selected following an evaluation process that included camps and competition.

“This has been a long selection process but we are excited with the roster that we have assembled and we’re really looking forward to getting out to Alberta in February,” head coach Jon Greenwood (Halifax Mooseheads, QMJHL) said.

The 2019 Canada Winter Games male hockey tournament will be held from Feb. 16 to Feb. 22, 2019 in Red Deer, Alta.

For a complete roster including players and team staff, please see below.

Hockey Nova Scotia would like to congratulate the 20 players named to our Canada Winter Games male team. We wish you the best of luck in Red Deer. We will be cheering you on.


Jacob Goobie (Upper Tantallon, N.S.)

Kenzie MacPhail (Inverness, N.S.) 


Tanner Greatorex (Truro, N.S.)

Oscar Plandowski (Halifax, N.S.)

Michael Sack (Shubenacadie, N.S.)

Luke Vardy (Hammonds Plains, N.S.)

Zach Welsh (Halifax, N.S.)

Cam Whynot (Kentville, N.S.) 


Sam Archibald (Debert, N.S.)

Davis Cooper (Hammonds Plains, N.S.)

Cole Foston (Beaverbank, N.S.)

Riley Kidney (Enfield, N.S.)

Cam MacDonald (Tantallon, N.S.)

Matthew MacDonald (Halifax, N.S.)

Jacob Melanson (Amherst, N.S.)

Joey Merriam (Milford, N.S.)

Colin Parker (Newport, N.S.)

Griffin Peers (Cole Harbour, N.S.)

Alex Ross (Halifax, N.S.)

Connor Trenholm (Cole Harbour, N.S.) 

Team Staff

Director of operations: Darren Sutherland (Halifax, N.S.)

Head coach: Jon Greenwood (Cole Harbour, N.S.)

Assistant coach: Tom Lee (Halifax, N.S.)

Assistant coach: Erin King (Bedford, N.S.)

Goaltending coach: Charles Grant (Berick, N.S.)

Equipment manager: Chris Waugh (Bedford, N.S.)

Author: CanadaGames

Categories: UncategorizedNumber of views: 2883



Thank you to our sponsors!

Planar Client Options

Layout Style

  • Boxed
  • Wide

Header & Footer

Theme Preview